Yucatan Symphony Orchestra (YSO)

Temporada Fall 2012

The 2012 Fall Season for Orquesta Sinfonica de Yucatan
Under the Direction of Juan Carlos Lomonaco 

Program 2: September 21 and 23
Mediterranean Air
Spain (1883) by French composer E. Chabrier brings us a set of melodies and musical temperaments that reflect the Spanish character. In this atmosphere, the famous Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto will be played by the young and talented Jesus Reina from Malaga, Spain who is returning to Merida after his memorable performance of Paganini. The Symphony in D Minor by Cesar Franck is the best known work of this Belgian-French composer and can be considered a bridge between two different musical traditions: the cyclical French and the German romantic, with the additional influences of Wagner and Liszt.

Program 3: October 5 and 7
Great Classics
Mozart and Beethoven were representative composers of the Classical period. Beethoven was the musical bridge with Romanticism, and Rachmaninov was a pure Romantic. This program is a representative sample of the most important works of these three composers. In this program, we will hear the Overture to The Marriage of Figaro (1786) from Mozart and Symphony No. 7 (1812) from Beethoven. Yucateco Alfredo Arjona plays the famous Piano Concerto No.2 by
Rachmaninov, under the baton of experienced opera conductor and pianist Serbian Berislav Skenderovic. These gifted artists are sure to make this concert a memorable event.

Program 4: October 12 and 14
Between Russians and Germans

This program is a highlight for the Yucatan Symphony because they are excited to enjoy the participation of distinguished Russian pianist Alexei Volodin, a world renowned figure who has been a soloist with the New York Philharmonic, London Symphony and the Mariinsky Theatre Symphony. He has been conducted by great conductors such as Valery Gergiev and Lorin Maazel. With all this great background and experience, he will be interpreting the Piano Concerto No. 2 (1881) by German composer J. Brahms. For the second part of the program, the
audience will enjoy two Grand Overtures: Tannhauser (1845) of the German opera composer Richard Wagner and the brilliant, solemn and emphatic 1812 Overture by Tchaikovsky.

Program 5: November 9 and 11
Sounds of Eastern Europe

Looking east, this program will walk the audience through the Slovakian and Czech landscapes, in a region called Bohemia. At the hands of Smetana and Dvořák, listeners will navigate the Vltava rivers in Moldova, through beautiful and evocative tone poems. Later in the program, the audience will take a tour of the Czech countryside through folk themes from Symphony No. 7.
Master Rob Myers, principal trumpet of the Yucatan Symphony Orchestra, will demonstrate virtuosity and precision playing the Trumpet Concerto (1950) by Armenian A. Arutiunian, a work that evokes the spirit of Armenian folklore… you can hear the gypsy melodies and almost taste the blackberries.

Program 6: November 16 and 18
Poland plays Germany

In this program the audience will visit Germany and its romantic music as seen through the eyes of two Poles. The director of the Orchestra ROK in Radom, Poland and the Polish-Mexican violinist and concertmaster of the Philharmonic Orchestra of Mexico City together will perform music by composers Max Bruch, Beethoven and Schumann. The Violin Concerto (1865) by Bruch is one of the most performed romantic pieces for violin and will be played by Erika Dobosiewicz and her violin, under the baton of Maestro Maciej Zoltowski, who plays the Fidelio Overture (1803) by Beethoven , one of the four overtures for the opera of the same name. They will also play the Symphony No. 4 (1841) by Robert Schumann, a funny, cheerful and hopeful piece of music.

Program 7: November 30
National Piano Contest

Pianists of Mexico and Latin America will be competing in the Third Grand Final National and International Piano Competition “Jose Jacinto Cuevas”. Our symphony will accompany the three finalists in this contest, who will perform a select list of concerts for piano and orchestra work.
The jury will evaluate the best interpreter of the piece to choose the winner. The public will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite.

Program 8: December 7 and 9
English and Italian Music

The first part of this program is entirely English, featuring the soloist and composers Elgar and Vaughan Williams. First, they will play the famous Pomp and Circumstance Military March (1901), whose title was taken from Act III of Othello by William Shakespeare. Listeners will recognize the main theme which is used for graduation ceremonies in schools throughout the United States. The violin will be represented by the OSY assistant concertmaster, Timothy Myall. In the second part of the program, Tchaikovsky’s music plunges us into beautiful Italy,
evoking all the history, art and literature for which it is so well loved.

Program 9: December 14 and 16
Operetta Die Fledermaus (concert version)

To close with a flourish, the Yucatan Symphony Orchestra will be accompanied by top-level Mexican and Yucatan singers. They will be performing a famous operetta by Viennese Johann Strauss. El Murciélago is a kind of comic opera based on the German comedy by Julius Roderich Benedix called Das Gefängnis (the prison), which in turn was based on a French vaudeville, Le Reveillon, by Henri Meilhac and Ludovic Halévy. The score shows off well what this Viennese
composer did best: polkas and waltzes, dances and comic entanglements. This light-hearted evening will close the Yucatan Symphony Orchestra’s eighteenth season with memorable music that will leave a glow in the hearts of the audience, saying Adiós! to 2012.

All Concerts have this in common:
Location: Teatro Jose Peon Contreras, Calle 60 x 57
Dates and Times: Fridays at 9:00 PM and Sundays at 12:00 Noon
Admission: $60, $80, $100 and $150 pesos.
Operetta: $100, $150, $200 and $250 pesos. 
All concerts provide a 25% discount for children
from 6 to 12 years of age, and for INAPAM members.
Time: 8:00 PM
Buy your tickets online at the Symphony website.

The above information is taken from Yucatan Living 
(put this in your bookmarks)